Web Content Viewer

Regional Transportation Planning Organizations (RTPOs)

Ohio Farm

​On July 1, 2013, ODOT began a two-year pilot program with five multi-county planning organizations (or councils of government) providing them with funding to conduct regional transportation planning in coordination with local stakeholders, Ohio MPOs, and ODOT. Much of Ohio's non-metropolitan local official coordination occurs between ODOT and these organizations. The five organizations cover 34 non-metropolitan counties in Ohio.

On January 27, 2016, Governor John Kasich formally designated each of these five agencies as an Ohio Regional Transportation Planning Organization (RTPO). These designations formalize the program that started as a pilot and will help spur better and more informed transportation decision making in Ohio.