Web Content Viewer



About the Program

Each year, the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) dedicates millions of dollars to litter clean-up. ODOT crews, inmates, and volunteer groups picked up 396,000 bags of trash along highways throughout the state in 2018, costing the agency a total cost of $4.1 million.

Adopt-A-Highway is one of the methods in which ODOT controls litter and to keep the state's highways beautiful. The program allows volunteer groups to adopt a two-mile section or an interchange along a state, federal or interstate route, free of cost. The program carries the following requirements:

  • Groups are asked to adopt for two years and pick up litter a minimum of four times each year.
  • Participants in Adopt-A-Highway should be volunteers and not paid to pick up litter.
  • Groups can partner with others in adopting but may not pay another group to pick up litter.

ODOT will provide safety training, trash bags, disposable safety vests and two signs to be used at the beginning of the two mile section. The only cost to each group is their time.

Additional Information

Adopting a Highway in Honor or in Memory

The Adopt-A-Highway program offers families an alternative to placing potentially hazardous roadside memorials on ODOT right-of-way. Families can apply to adopt a two-mile section of roadway or interchange in memory of someone who has died, whether in a motor vehicle accident or from other causes, or in honor of someone who is living. Memorial adoptions will be processed in the same manner as regular adoptions. The name of the person memorialized will be placed upon the Adopt-A-Highway signs at the beginning and ending point of the adopted section.

Applying for Highway Adoption

To apply for a highway adoption, please click the button to begin an online application.


Contact a Local Coordinator

 District 1    Allen, Defiance, Hancock, Hardin, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert and Wyandot counties

Eric Pfenning  |  419-999-6893

 District 2   Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, Seneca, Williams and Wood counties

Jessica Bidinger  |  419-373-4414

 District 3   Ashland, Crawford, Erie, Huron, Lorain, Medina, Richland and Wayne counties

Sonya Riley  |  419-207-7160 

 District 4   Ashtabula, Mahoning, Portage, Stark, Summit and Trumbull counties

John Rice  |  330-786-2275

 District 5   Coshocton, Fairfield, Guernsey, Knox, Licking, Muskingum and Perry counties

Pam Moore  |  740-323-5261

 District 6   Delaware, Fayette, Franklin, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Pickaway and Union counties

Ashley Verne  |  740-833-8251

 District 7   Auglaize, Champaign, Clark, Darke, Logan, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery and Shelby counties

Joyce Wolfe  |  937-497-6801

 District 8   Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Greene, Hamilton, Preble and Warren counties

Jennifer Henderson  |  513-933-6685

 District 9   Adams, Brown, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross and Scioto counties

Katie Vest  |  740-774-8903

 District 10   Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Vinton and Washington counties

Christi Van Meter  |  740-568-4433

 District 11   Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson and Tuscarawas counties

Lindzee Hoffman  |  330-308-3939

 District 12   Cuyahoga, Geauga and Lake counties

Jason Szabo  |  216-584-2200

Statewide Coordinator & Program Administrator  

Joel Hunt  |  614-466-7173