Web Content Viewer

Clickable District Map

ODOT District 12ODOT District 4ODOT District 11ODOT District 5ODOT District 3ODOT District 6ODOT District 10ODOT District 9ODOT District 8ODOT District 7ODOT District 2ODOT District 1

Permits are required when working on the Ohio Department of Transportation's right-of-way. Common activities that occur along state, federal, and interstate highways that require right-of-way permits include:

  • Residential, commercial, and field driveways
  • Landscaping
  • Utility work, including telephone, electric, gas, cable, water, sanitary sewer, and storm sewer
  • Pipeline installation
  • Soil boring
  • Seismic surveys

ODOT permits are valid only within the limits of state right-of-way as described on the issued permit. All work performed within corporation limits must be approved through the appropriate city or village, as ODOT does not have jurisdiction within corporation limits. Permits for portions of work along county or township right-of-way must be obtained from the appropriate authorities.

Right-of-way and utility permits are managed by ODOT district offices. To apply for most common permits to work along state right-of-way, please click your area of the state on the map or use a link below.

Please note that the following additional types of permits are managed centrally:

District 1 - Lima

Allen, Defiance, Hancock, Hardin, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert, and Wyandot counties

District 2 - Bowling Green

Fulton, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, Seneca, Williams, and Wood counties

District 3 - Ashland

Ashland, Crawford, Erie, Huron, Lorain, Medina, Richland, and Wayne counties

District 4 - Akron

Ashtabula, Mahoning, Portage, Stark, Summit, and Trumbull counties

District 5 - Jacksontown

Coshocton, Fairfield, Guernsey, Knox, Licking, Muskingum, and Perry counties

District 6 - Delaware

Delaware, Fayette, Franklin, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Pickaway and Union counties

District 7 - Sidney

Auglaize, Champaign, Clark, Darke, Logan, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, and Shelby counties

District 8 - Lebanon

Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Greene, Hamilton, Preble, and Warren counties

District 9 - Chillicothe

Adams, Brown, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross, and Scioto counties

District 10 - Marietta

Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Vinton, and Washington counties

District 11 - New Philadelphia

Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, and Tuscarawas counties

District 12 - Cleveland

Cuyahoga, Geauga, and Lake counties