Web Content Viewer
Seaplane Landing Areas

Need to land a seaplane in Ohio? You can do that in the below approved areas. Click the name of a seaplane landing area to see landing maps.

Ohio seaplane bases

  1. Grand Lake St. Marys (O12) (Auglaize County)
  2. Toledo Seaplane Base (2C9) (Lucas County)

Approved seaplane landing areas

  1. Buckeye Lake (Fairfield, Licking, and Perry counties)
  2. Indian Lake (Logan County)
  3. Long Lake (Summit County)
  4. Salt Fork Reservoir (Guernsey County)
  5. Grassy Island North (Lucas County)
  6. Sandusky Bay East (Erie County)
  7. Grand Rapids, Maumee River (Wood County)
  8. Lake Milton North (Mahoning County)
  9. Lake Milton South (Mahoning County)
  10. Rocky Fork (Highland County)

Changes to seaplane operation laws

Please note that the following changes to the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) for seaplane operations went into effect in April 2018:

  1. All federal navigable waterways are open for seaplane operations.
  2. Pilots are no longer required to have permits to land on State of Ohio approved landing sites.
  3. Only the lakes listed on this site are approved for seaplane operations.